Our Governing Body

The Governing Body of Cathays High School consists of Governors who are:

• Parents of Cathays High School pupils
• Representatives from the local education authority
• Cathays High School staff
• Community governors
• The Headteacher
Mr P. Wong – Chair of Governors
Mrs K. A. Slade – Vice Chair (Comm Gov)
Mrs J. Setchfield – LEA Governor
Cllr N. Mackie – LEA Governor
Cllr C. Weaver – LEA Governor
Mr A. Bhagat – Community Governor
Ms R. Newsome – Community Governor
Mr S Kielthy – Community Governor
Mr I Hassan – Community Governor
Mrs B Taylor – Parent Governor Mr S. Davies – Headteacher
Mr C. Davies – Parent Governor Miss C. Suarez – Teacher Governor
Ms G. Wiegand – Parent Governor Miss I Dunne – Teacher Governor
Dr A. Ahmed – Parent Governor Mr D. Fergusson – Non-Teacher Governor
Vacancy – Parent Governor Miss N. Jones – Observer
Dr S Tahir Bakhsh – Parent Governor Mrs K. Harrington – Observer
Mrs S. Petryna – In Attendance Mr J. Taylor – Observer
Mr G Rees-Thomas – In Attendance Mr H. Picken – Observer
Miss E Williams – In Attendance Ms P. Benincasa – Clerk to Governors

The Deputy Headteacher Mr H. Picken and the Assistant Headteachers Mrs K. Harrington, Miss N. Jones and Mr J. Taylor attend full Governors meetings and observers and are co-opted onto various committees.

Clerk to the Governors:
Ms P. Benincasa, c/o Cathays High School, Crown Way, Cardiff, CF14 3XG. Tel (029) 2054 4426.

Chair of Governors:
Mr P Wong, c/o Cathays High School, Crown Way, Cardiff CF14 3XG.  Tel (029) 2054 4426.

Any parent of a Cathays High School pupil may apply to become a Parent Governor. Parent Governors are elected by parental vote and serve for a term of four years. When a position becomes vacant, parents are informed, nominations asked for and the election takes place.

Governors meet regularly as a whole body to discuss school matters. They also have specific responsibilities and choose to be members of committees that are responsible for:

• Premises and Community Matters
• Finance and Staffing
• Curriculum

Each committee elects a chair and vice chair at the beginning of the academic year in September. In November each year the Governing Body produces its annual report on the school and this is made available to parents.


The responsibility for the day-to-day running of the school, and many other matters, are delegated by the Governing Body to the Headteacher. In turn, specific areas of responsibility are delegated to the deputy Headteacher, Assistant Headteachers and other members of the Senior Management Team.

The school is organized into groupings of teachers in subject areas. Each year group of pupils has a team of pastoral tutors and a head of year.

Latest Governors Minutes

Please click the download button to access the PDF